The month that was..

Its been more than a month since I last blogged, so, here are the updates of the month that was by far the most eventful month in my life so far.

I get a mail from my mentor, Andreas on the 2nd of May saying that I should apply for the Google Summer of Code, 2013 with Artikulate for KDE, May 3rd being the last day of proposal submission. And so I made the application which took me two hours. You’ll find the link to my proposal here. By then, I was done with adding Bengali to the list of languages in Artikulate.

What happens next is definitely one of the worst nightmares for someone like me whose lifeline is her computer. During the first week of May, the right-hand side hinge of my laptop breaks and it absolutely stops working. Thanks to the horrendous service of Dell, after a lot of trouble, I finally get back my laptop on the 28th of May. Also, I had my end semester exams starting from mid May extending upto June 1st. Precisely, these are the reasons for me not being able to blog for so long. :(

So, now lets get to the good part. The results of GSoC 2013 and OPW 2013 came out on the 27th of May, 2013 at 19:00 hours UTC (or, 28th May, 2013 at 00:30 hours IST) and I have been selected for the Google Summer of Code, 2013 which means that I’ll be receiving a scholarship from Google for doing something that I love to, i.e., coding and that too on my favourite project, Artikulate for the whole summer under two wonderful mentors, Andreas Cord-Landwehr and Myriam Schweingruber. Yayie! \o/ And just when I was thinking that things couldn’t get any better, I get a mail on the 29th of May from Claudia Rauch saying that my request for travel and accommodation support to attend Akademy, 2013 has been granted by KDE e.V. and I was overwhelmed. Thanks a lot, you guys. Thanks for providing me with such great opportunities. I promise to give in my best and never let you down. You guys are seriously great. Cheers! :)

2 thoughts on “The month that was..

Leave a Reply

